NBA return official: Governors vote 29-1 in favor of resuming season

The 2020 NBA season will continue after the Board of Governors voted 29-1 on its return.

ESPN’s Adrian Wojnarowski broke the news on Friday. A total of 22 teams will travel to Orlando around early July to prepare for the season’s resumption.

The teams included will play an additional 8 regular season games to determine playoff seeding.

There will still be a total of 16 teams in the playoffs, 8 from each conference.

In an added wrinkle, the 9th seeded team from each conference will have a shot at the playoffs if they are within 4 games of the 8th seed.

In that case, the 9th seed will have to beat the 8th seed twice.

Otherwise, the 8th seed automatically enters the playoffs.