UAAP Season 81 baseball: Ateneo, DLSU clash for one final time

Game today: (Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium)
12 noon – DLSU vs Ateneo (Baseball Finals)

ATENEO and De La Salle dispute the UAAP Season 81 baseball championship in Thursday’s deciding Game 3 that could go down the wire.

When the first pitch goes off at 12 noon at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium, the Blue Eagles and the Green Batters will leave everything on the mound to cap an exciting best-of-three series between the two fiercest collegiate rivals.

De La Salle took the Finals opener, 9-7, before Ateneo scored a series-tying 7-3 victory last Tuesday.

The Eagles’ were in the zone in Game 2, as pitcher Miggy Angeles delivered the goods in a no-relief job.

“He was sensational,” said Ateneo coach Bocc Bernardo on Angeles.

Javi Macasaet went 4-of-4 in Game 2, while Gino Tantuico, who slammed two homeruns in the championship series, including a grand slam in the opener, was on fire for the Eagles.

A win will reclaim Ateneo’s crown it won two years ago at the expense of University of Santo Tomas. The Eagles are also eyeing to avenge their 2016 Finals loss, where the Green Batters ended a 13-year title drought.

De La Salle remains a potent force though behind Game 1 hero Iggy Escaño, Kiko Gesmundo and Boo Barandiaran.