4th Globe Media Excellence Awards Winners revealed


Awards coverage now expanded to four major cities namely General Santos, Cagayan de Oro, Zamboanga and Davao

In recognition of their exemplary work in bringing to the fore most relevant social issues through different channels of print, broadcast and digital media, outstanding media professionals and social media practitioners in Mindanao were honored at the 4th Globe Media Excellence Awards. The awards now cover media organizations in four major cities in the region namely General Santos, Cagayan de Oro, Zamboanga and Davao.

The most anticipated premier award-giving body that gives recognition to excellence in journalism in southern Philippines, the Globe Media Excellence Awards event was held at the SMX Davao. “As purveyor of Filipino digital lifestyle, Globe Telecom is united with media professionals and social media practitioners in their vision of effecting meaningful transformation in our society. We hope that the Globe Excellence Media Awards will continue to be a source of inspiration for media and social media advocates in tackling relevant social issues for a more wonderful Philippines,” Globe Senior Vice President for Corporate Communications Yoly Crisanto said.

In the print category, Henrylito Tacio of Edge Davao was given the Reporter of the Year for Print award for his article “HIV/AIDS cases in Davao growing”. Tacio also won the Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year/Online for his article “Davao City: Before and After”. Fred Lumba of Mindanao Bulletin was declared Columnist of the Year for his article “Federalism is good for the country” while Seth delos Reyes of SunStar Davao was named Photojournalist of the Year for his photo captioned “Playground”.

For broadcast, the top recognition of Reporter of the Year for Television was given to Ben Jason Tesiorna of CNN Philippines for his feature “The man who thanked HIV for new life”. Tesiorna also bagged the Explanatory or Investigative Story of the Year for TV, for “Davao City’s Best Water”. Named as Reporter of the Year for Radio was Big Jay Lagang of 105.9 Balita FM for “Indigenous Student Education”

Recognized as Blogger of the Year was Ariel Lalisan (Living in the South) for his blog entitled “It’s hard to be a kid in Kiahe”. Olan Emboscado (The Travel Teller) was named as Social Media Advocate of the Year for his work entitled “Into the heart of Agusan Marsh”. There were a total of 352 entries this year compared with 259 last year.