‘Hawaii Five-0’ to End After Season 10 in April

The tide is subsiding and the sun is setting on the CBS procedural “Hawaii Five-0” season 10. The network confirmed that the series will air its finale episode on April 10 with a two-hour special.

CBS Entertainment President Kelly Hahl announced the ending of the series starring Alex O’Loughlin as Steve McGarrett. For years, the actor has been rumored to be departing the show but he stayed on until the end.

“It’s never easy to say goodbye to a hit franchise that carried on the legacy of the original with such distinction, while establishing its own signature style,” Kahl said. “From episode one, Hawaii Five-0 has been a huge success for us. Thanks to the amazing talents of the producers, writers, cast and crew, it has played a key role for a decade on our schedule and helped establish our powerhouse Friday night. We cannot be prouder of its quality and longevity and are thankful for the passionate fan devotion it inspired.”

“This show has been pretty much every waking moment for the last 10 years of my life,” O’Loughlin said. “Everywhere I go on this planet, in every language, I am McGarrett to all these people. What we’ve done, what we’ve accomplished, it’s extraordinary. I can’t really put words to express my level of gratitude. I’m just glad to have been a part of this, a part of history, and I’m going to miss it. And to the fans, I don’t know how to thank you guys. Thank you for following us the way you have. I’m going to miss you. Aloha.”

“Hawaii Five-0” season 10 averaged seven million viewers a week. Overall, it’s the fourth top-ranking drama series on CBS and the 15th ranking series on network television.

Also starring in “Hawaii Five-0” are Scott Caan, Ian Anthony Dale, Meaghan Rath, Beulah Koale, Katrina Law, Taylor Wily, Dennis Chun, Kimee Balmilero and Chi McBride. After season 7, Daniel Dae Kim and Grace Park left the series after a controversial negotiation fell through.

Expected to return for the finale are recurring cast members James Marsters (Victor Hesse), William Sadler (John McGarrett) and Mark Dacascos (Wo Fat).

The show will close with 240 episodes in its 10-year run.